Intermediate Care Facilities

Regional Centers are congregate living facilities operated the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and are certified by the Department of Public Health. These Intermediate Care Facilities provide health care and rehabilitation services in a residential setting to residents who have complex needs. Respite services are also available within some of the centers.

Currently, the state operates three centers that are certified to provide residential support to approximately 150 individuals.

Eligibility Criteria

In order to be eligible for Regional Centers, individuals must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a Connecticut resident
  • Have an intellectual disability or a medical diagnosis of Prader-Willi Syndrome by a physician

As defined by the state, an intellectual disability is a significant limitation in intellectual functioning and adaptive behavior that originated before 18 years of age.

Learn MoreDownload the Eligibility Fact Sheet for more information.

Services and Fees

In addition to room and board, Regional Centers offer skilled nursing, 24-hour monitoring and supervision, personal care, meals and social and recreational opportunities.

Find in Your Area

There are currently three regional centers which provide residential support to people with intellectual disabilities.

Lower Fairfield Center
142 Silvermine Ave
Norwalk, CT 06850
(203) 642-5000
Hartford Center
71 Mountain Rd
Newington, CT 06111
(860) 331-2100
Northwest Center
195 Alvord Park Rd
Torrington, CT 06790
(860) 496-3000