Skip to Content

Regional Centers

Regional centers are congregate living facilities governed by federal regulations for Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IIDs). These facilities provide comprehensive and individualized health care and rehabilitation services to individuals with intellectual disability. The Department of Developmental Services (DDS) operates ICFs in campus models. They are certified by the Department of Public Health and are eligible for Medicaid reimbursement.  

With the advent of community-based services, some regional centers have closed. Currently, the department operates three centers certified to provide residential support to approximately 150 individuals. Respite services are also available within some of the centers.


Learn more. Please visit the Department of Developmental Services website to find a residential center in your area.

Date Modified: 07/24/2018

Back to Top


This action will delete your current tool kit. Be sure to write down the reference code below if you want to return to it again.


Are you sure you'd like to remove this item from your Tool Kit?


Please enter the category you would like to search in.