Skip to Content

Regional Centers

Regional Centers are congregate living facilities operated the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and are certified by the Department of Public Health. These Intermediate Care Facilities provide health care and rehabilitation services in a residential setting to residents who have complex needs. Respite services are also available within some of the centers.

Currently, the state operates three centers that are certified to provide residential support to approximately 150 individuals.

Eligibility Criteria 

In order to be eligible for Regional Centers, individuals must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a Connecticut resident
  • Have an intellectual disability or a medical diagnosis of Prader-Willi Syndrome by a physician

As defined by the state, an intellectual disability is a significant limitation in intellectual functioning and adaptive behavior that originated before 18 years of age.

Learn More: Download the Eligibility Fact Sheet for more information.

Services and Fees

In addition to room and board, Regional Centers offer skilled nursing, 24-hour monitoring and supervision, personal care, meals and social and recreational opportunities.

Find in Your Area

There are currently three regional centers which provide residential support to people with intellectual disabilities.

  Lower Fairfield Center
142 Silvermine Ave
Norwalk, CT 06850
(203) 642-5000
Hartford Center
71 Mountain Rd
Newington, CT 06111
(860) 331-2100
Northwest Center
195 Alvord Park Rd
Torrington, CT 06790
(860) 496-3000

Back to Top


This action will delete your current Favorites. Be sure to write down the reference code below if you want to return to it again.


Are you sure you'd like to remove this item from your Favorites?


Please enter the category you would like to search in.

My Place CT Chat
My Place CT Chat
Chat Now